Golden Globes 2013 Best and Worst Dressed

Red Carpet season has begun. I can officially quit holding my breath. This time of year is probably my second favorite behind Christmas. If you think I’m joking, you can ask my husband, who has to listen to me chatter endlessly about it – as if he cares. At all.

I’m going to give the ‘letter grade’ method a whirl. I have 4 top favorites, but I feel like I need to share more than just 4 and I want my readers to understand my logic in why I graded them what I did. PLEASE TELL ME YOUR FAVORITES AND DIFFERENCES OF OPINION IN THE COMMENTS! I LOVE TO HEAR WHAT MY READERS THINK!

Kate Hudson in Alexander McQueen – A+ I love this dress for a number of reasons. The gold accents really accentuate without overpowering, especially since she wore her hair down, slightly covering some of the bling. Kate always knows how to enhance one sexy feature – in this case her decolletage. Her makeup is soft, which is a good contrast to the edginess of the dress.

Jessica Alba in Oscar de la Renta – A+ The color is SO right for her skin tone. That in and of itself is reason enough for the A+, but the bonus is that amazing $5.8 mill Harry Winston necklace and furry Roger Vivier clutch.

Isla Fisher in Reem Acra – A+ People haven’t really been raving over this dress on the blogosphere the way I have, but I think that this is the best she has ever looked. This is an example of flawless styling. That lip color and hairstyle is to DIE FOR. The dress is beautiful with the illusion neckline/sleeves, and it just fits her so well. There’s just nothing wrong with this look. Pat yourself on the back, Sacha Baron Cohen, you’re a lucky bastard.

Michelle Dockery in Alexandre Vauthier – A+ I really really love this dress. It has such interesting gold lace detail at the top, and it’s so modest, yet so so sexy.

Naomi Watts in Zac Posen – A- Ok it truly pains me not to give this an A+, but the color just didn’t quite do the trick for me. I just think a royal purple or blue would have done it better justice. The back of this dress is ah-mah-zing and I love her side-swept hairdo.

Marion Cotillard in Dior Haute Couture – B+ There is lot I love about this look, the shoes, the asymmetrical belt and the minimal styling. My only qualm is that the length feels slightly awkward and the gown is casual compared to lots of other outfits I saw.

Kerry Washington in Miu Miu – B+ I love how unique this gown is. The color looks great on her and I love the sheer neckline but I could have done without the sheer hemline.

Olivia Munn in Armani – B- While the silhouette is somewhat plain, I love the bodice detail/color and the ombre belt. I also dig her sleek hair. She’s just such a tomboy I like seeing her dolled up some.

 

Jennifer Garner in Vivienne Westwood – B- I love this gown on her a lot. The color works great and the silhouette is super-flattering. The loose updo accentuates her beautiful shoulders. The only reason I don’t give this a higher score is because I don’t find this dress particularly exciting. It’s a very classic silhouette though and it looks stunning on her.

Julianne Hough in Monique Lhuillier – C+ I want to love this gown. When I saw it move, I really really liked it, but for me, her styling totally screws up the ethereal glamour of this beautiful dress. She’s trying too many things with the rocker hair, smoky eye, and bug jewelry.

Lucy Liu in Carolina Hererra – D+ I appreciate a good couture gown as much as the next red carpet junkie, but this just does not work for me. Strange pastels and a medieval pouf silhouette just does not fit into the context of the Golden Globes. Perhaps for a more indie occasion? And a braid? No.

Halle Berry in Versace – F This is just gross.

Weigh in below, friends! And stay tuned for the SAG Red Carpet post coming soon!

 

 

One thought on “Golden Globes 2013 Best and Worst Dressed

  1. Isla Fisher is by far my favorite…I think she looks stunning! A classic beauty.
    Totally agree with Halle Berry receiving a big fat F. That is awful. It looks like she has one boob.. not cute.
    And obviously, Michelle Dockery looks incredible in this dress. ‘Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

